Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Wedding Wednesdays: How To Get a Marriage License

Sometimes in the excitement of all that wedding planning, you forget about actually solidifying your union by applying for your marriage license! Make sure it's official by checking this off your list. Sure it's paperwork but it's still exciting! Here's everything you need to know before heading to the marriage bureau.

So where do you even start? The Internet will likely be your best bet! Most, if not all, states have a government website with ample information on what materials and documents are required and the office's contact information. Check out this helpful website on US marriage laws to find out about the policies in your area.

Once you know in which municipality (city, district and county) your nuptials will take place, you'll need to locate where to obtain the license. It might be city hall, the city or town clerk's office, or the marriage license bureau in the county where you plan to say 'I do'. For example, in Connecticut, marriage licenses are issued by the municipal clerk's office in the town where you'll be married, whereas in Iowa, couples may apply at any county registrar or recorder's office. In some states, like New Jersey, you can simply download a marriage license brochure and the license itself to be filled out by you and your spouse-to-be.

Bride signing marriage license

Other than the physical paperwork, it's important to be cautious of timing. Some states require a several-day waiting period between granting the license and your nuptials taking place. Definitely make sure you're ahead of the game if this is the case! Also, most marriage licenses are only valid for a window of time—anywhere between 10 days and a year—during which you must have the ceremony, sign the license (together with your officiant) and file for a certified license and marriage certificate. Good to know!

Requirements do vary by state, but they all basically just want to confirm the basics: that you have proper identification, that you're not currently married to anyone else (if you previously were, you need proper divorce or widowhood papers) and that you're of legal age to marry. A good checklist of necessities includes:
  • Birth certificates
  • Parental consent if underage (usually under 18); you may also need court consent in this case
  • Photo identification (driver's license, state ID card, passport or birth certificate)
  • Social Security number
  • Proof of citizenship and/or residence
  • Divorce decree if divorced
  • Death certificate if widowed
With all of this general information in mind, we've listed the specific marriage license process for Massachusetts below. Read on to find what you'll need!

  • Fee charged; varies by town or city and required at time of application
  • Waiting period: three days
  • Issued by city or town clerk's office
  • Valid for 60 days
  • Click here for general information and here for a clerk's offices by city and town.
Don't forget to add this crucial piece to your wedding planning checklist! Do the research and devour the details of your marriage license before heading down the aisle!

No comments:

Post a Comment